- Canyon Falls
- Alberta Village Museum
- Sturgeon River Falls
- Little Mountain
- L'Anse Waterfront &
- Arvon Slate Quarry
- Mount Arvon
- Point Abbaye
- Bishop Baraga Shrine
- Baraga County Museum
- Hanka Finnish
Plymouth Open Pit Mine
Presque Isle Scenic
Black River Harbor
National Scenic Byway
Little Girl's Point
Lake Superior Cliffs
A.E. Seaman Mineral Museum
Joseph Bosch Building
&Lindell Chocolate Shoppe
The Finnish-American Heritage Center
Quincy Mine Historic Site & Tour
Houghton County Historical Museum
Laurium Manor Inn
F.J. McLain State Park
Copper Range Historical Museum
Champion #4 Rock Shafthouse
Coppertown Mining Museum
Chassell Heritage Center
Pentoga Park Indian Burial Grounds
Alpha Circle Historic District
Iron County Courthouse
Mansfield Location and Pioneer Church
Be Wa Bic State Park
Apple Blossom Trail
Lake Ottawa Rec Area and Campground
Mile Post Zero and Treaty Tree
Camp Gibbs Recreation
Phoenix Church and Townsite
Delaware Copper Mine
Keweenaw Mountain Lodge
Fort Wilkins State Park
Eagle Harbor Lighthouse and Museum
Bammert Blacksmith Shop
Falls/ Trout Creek Mill Pond
Adventure Mine Site
Ontonagon County Historical Museum
Old Victoria Restoration and Dam
Ottawa National Forest Bergland Heritage Center
Silver City/ Bonanza Falls
Porcupine Mountains Wilderness Park
This is a beautiful box canyon waterfall
and is sometimes referred to as the "Grand Canyon of the Upper Peninsula."
This waterfall is located on the Sturgeon River and is part of Michigan
Tech's research forest. It is
unmatched for it's fury in early Spring and blazing colors in the fall.
Location: From L'Anse go South on US 41 for 9 miles, approximately 4
miles North of the US 41 & M-28 junction. The trail starts in back of
the water pump at the roadside park. Approximately a 10-15 minute hike
on a level trail with boardwalks. Please contact (906) 524-7444 for more information.
State roadside park, summer months.
Village and Sawmill
Henry Ford built the picturesque Alberta
Village in 1936 as a model self-sustaining sawmill town.
He chose a site along Plumbago Creek, which he dammed. The resulting lake provided a water supply for the mill and a recreation
area for the residents. One can tour the early 20th centruy sawmill
and town from June 15th to October 15. You can relive the Ford dream
and learn about lumbering in the western Upper Peninsula through a
self-guided tour. Knothole Gift Shop and visitor center are open
From L'Anse go south on US41 for 8 miles, approximately 5 miles north of
the US41/M-28 junction. For additional information or to
arrange group tours please call (906) 524-6181. Website:
Hours: 10 am-4pm. Closed Sundays and holidays.
B-3 Sturgeon River Falls and Gorge
This unique geological and distinctive
landform is not to be found in any other area of the Lake States.
Volcanic rock outcrops form the 20-foot Sturgeon Falls and the 300 foot
deep river erosion creates the breathtaking Gorge. This wilderness
site will challenge your mind and endurance, a most refreshing "get away
from it all location." This scenic and challenging area is found in
the Ottawa National Forest. A wilderness experience for those who
want to fish, backpack, canoe, kayak, or camp.
West from Baraga on M-38 to Prickett Dam Road, 8 miles, South on the
Prickett Dam Road (pass the dam, boat launch and Silver Mountain,) cross
the bridge, 6 miles, and Sturgeon River to Trail Head parking lot on
Forest Road 2270, (3 miles). From Sidnaw on M-28, North on Forest Road
2200 to junction of Forest Road 2270. Parking lot is 1/2 mile from
junction. Please contact (906) 524-7444 for more information.
Seasonal roads may have barriers due to seasonal snow quantities, but
normally accessible year round.
B-4 Little Mountain
When you reach the top of Little
Mountain there is a panoramic view of Keweenaw Bay and the Huron
Mountains. The scenic view changes with the seasons as an artist
paints the horizon.
Location: From L'Anse go South on US 41
approximately 2 miles. North of US 41 & M-28 junction 9 - 10 miles.
Take Golf Course Road 2 miles to the Trail's Head. Hike is
approximately 25 minutes. Please contact (906) 524-7444 for more
information. Open weather permitting.
B-5 L'Anse Waterfront & Township Hall
The waterfront has sidewalks along the
shoreline, picnic tables, pavilion, and restrooms. You will also
enjoy some of the historic artifacts that are on display. There are
barrier free fishing platforms. You may order your take-out meals
from nearby restaurants or enjoy your picnic lunch. You will see the
Township Hall and may walk there to see a large collection of historic
photography that the township maintains for public viewing during regular
Location: US 41 to downtown L'Anse waterfront.
There is a large public parking lot including room for vehicles with
trailers. Please contact (906) 524-7377 for more information.
Park open all of the time. Township Hall photos available during
normal office hours: 9:00am - 12:00pm and
1:00pm -3:00pm weekdays (except holidays.)
B-6 Arvon Slate Quarry
Only apple trees and small clearings mark
the location of the townsite of Arvon. It was once home to some 300
people. Waste slate piles and a water pit remain from the Slate
Mining operations that began in 1870, ending in 1892. Henry Ford
pumped the water from the pit and mined slate for his operations in the
1920s. One can see the foundations of some early slate buildings,
drainage ditch and piles of waste slate. The pit makes for a
peaceful small lake.
Location: US 41 to downtown L'Anse, at
the stoplight go right (North) on Main Street which turns into Skanee
Road. Go approximately 10 miles to Arvon Road and the Quarry is about 4
miles on the Arvon Road. Please contact (906) 524-7444 for more
information. Seasonal roads, but accessible year round.
B-7 Mount Arvon
For years, Mount Curwood was thought to be
Michigan's highest peak. In 1982 the U.S. Department of
Interior's survey team gathered new measurements. Mount Curwood is
1978.24 feet and Mount Arvon is 1979.238 feet above sea level.
Although no panoramic view is offered from the summit of Mount Arvon,
visitors can enjoy unspoiled forest scenery. Seasonal road, but
accessible in the winter by snowmobile.
Location: US 41 to
downtown L'Anse. Turn right (North) at the four way stop on Main
Street, which will turn into Skanee Road. Go approximately 16 miles
to Roland Lake Road, turn right and go 3 miles to Ravine River Road.
Go 8 miles and follow the blue diamond shaped signs that mark the way to
the summit. Please contact (906) 524-7444 for more information.
B-8 Point Abbaye
A picturesque wilderness has an unmatched
view of the Huron Islands and the Huron Mountains, along with the crystal
clear waters of Lake Superior. Enjoy the serenity of nature at this
remote area which has been unspoiled by human development.
Location: US 41 to downtown L'Anse. Turn right (North) at the four
way stop on Main Street, which will turn into Skanee Road. Go
approximately 8 miles and turn left on Townline Road. Go 4 miles to
a stop sign: go straight for another mile; turn right on Point Abbaye
Road. Go approximately 7 - 8 miles and you will have reached the
Point. Please contact (906) 524-7444 for more information.
Seasonal road, but accessible year round.
Henry Ford bought the town from
Hebbard's Logging in 1924. The town was built on the site of a
former Indian Settlement. The location was the site of the first
Baraga County Church as Father Menard spent the winter of 1660-1661 at
this settlement. You may see the former Ford sawmill, Ford bungalow,
and historic cemetery. The town sites are all privately owned.
A drive through of the village settlement is open year round.
Location: US 41 to downtown L'Anse through the stoplight to the
waterfront. Turn North on Bayshore Drive, 7 miles to this former
Henry Ford sawmill town. Please contact (906) 524-7444 for more
B-10 Bishop Baraga Shrine
Rising six stories above the Red Rocks
Bluff, the Shrine commands a breathtaking panoramic view of Keweenaw Bay
and surrounding communities. The statue of Bishop Baraga is 35 feet
tall and weighs four tons, holding a cross (7 feet high) and snowshoes (26
feet long.) It floats on a cloud of stainless steel, supported by
five laminated wood beams representing Baraga's five major missions.
Locations: US 41 between L'Anse and Baraga, turn on to Lambert Road,
follow the signs to the parking lot (less than one mile.) Please
contact (906) 524-7021 for more information. Site open seven days a
week, 24 hours, year round. Gift shop: Winter hours 11am -
5pm. Summer, June 15 - October 1, 9am - 6pm.
B-11 Baraga County Museum
The cedar cabin structure opened in 1995,
housing a unique display of the county's past. From wooden water
lines, 1800s furniture and 1000 year old Native American pottery shards,
the museum gives visitors a glimpse of the historic past. The county
birth and death records make it a must for genealogists. The Bishop
Baraga collection, early dentist, logging and veteran's displays make it a
must for all.
Location: US 41 Baraga. Please contact (906)3538444 or (906)
353-6810 for more information. Open June 1 - October 1, Monday -
Saturday, 11:00am - 3:00pm.
B-12 Hanka Finnish Homestead Museum
Have you ever gone down an old dirt road,
through a forest, and wondered what was at the end? The road down to
the Hanka Finnish Homestead Museum is just like that... Located on
the original Hanka Farm, the site was homesteaded in 1886. Once
located on the only road West out of Keweenaw Bay, the Hanka Farm has been
restored and activated for today's visitor enjoyment. The Finnish
immigrant farm museum opened in 1985 and is operated by volunteers.
The museum is a reminder to visitors and local residents of our early
Location: Follow signs from US 41 or corner of M-38 & Pelkie Road.
The Hanka Homestead is located well of the beaten path in its original
setting. Don't panic; enjoy the scenic drive on the back roads.
Please contact (906) 524-7444 for more information.
Assinins, from the Native language
meaning "Little Stone," is named after the first Chief baptized by Father
Baraga. This site is the original location of the Ojibwa
Indian Mission founded by Father Baraga in 1843, and is still an active
parish today. The mission was established as a Catholic mission and
school just prior to Father Baraga becoming the first Bishop of Northern
Michigan. This spot sits on beautiful Keweenaw Bay, and has a
panoramic view of the Huron Mountain Range to the East. Baraga
picked this site because of its strategic location, where he could monitor
the comings and goings of the people of the day. Assinins is located
on the federally recognized Indian reservation of the Keweenaw Bay Indian
Community. It includes an historic schoolhouse, scenic overlook,
hiking trail, and one of the UP's oldest cemeteries. Location: 2.5
miles North of the village of Baraga. Please contact (906)
353-6483 for additional information. Website:
Back to Introduction Page